2011 Fashion Wars

2011 Fashion Wars

Sorry I haven’t been posting much but I’ve been very busy.  This time of year is when I have the most shows and with November approaching my season is winding down.  Just 4 more shows and then I’m done for the year and then it’s time to start preparing for the shows to begin again starting in February.

Anyway what I’ve been busy with is my very first fashion show.  I signed up to do a fashion show in August but that one had to be canceled when the organizer lost most of her models to Fashion Week here in Omaha.  She contacted me and asked if I would like to be involved with the Fall Fashion Wars and I agreed.  Here’s what that involved.  I was the only jewelry designer allowed in the show, I recieved a 1/4 page ad, and I had a booth for people to look at my other pieces.

Leading up to the show I continued to have sales and up until Monday of last week I was making changes to my runway pieces simply because a piece would sell and I would have to replace it.  Then last week; just 6 days before the show the organizer told me I would need to have some sort of skit going on during my 15 minutes on the runway!  Panic time.  I posted on a bunch of forums and got some really good advice and ideas.  All that turned out to be for nothing.  Yep what the organizer did instead was have music blarring and didn’t say a darn thing.  The girls just walked out and across the stage and showed off my jewelry to the photographers and other guests.  Next time I will know not to do anything for the show and just let the models show off the pieces.

Anyway with my daughter helping the two of us worked out a plan.  She would put the pieces on the girls and I would take them off.  Yeah right, best laid plans.  The girls just walked up and stood waiting for someone to remove the jewelry and most of the time it ended up being my daughter doing all of it.  I had carefully numbered each piece and put them in order in my trays so they would be in line with the MC but then since she wasn’t reading or saying anything we just forgot about that and put pieces on as the girls came back without minding the order.  Oh well another lesson learned.

I plan to try to get involved with Fashion Week here in Omaha next year, I’ve missed the spring application deadline because I was busy with this show and others but I have the date the fall application will be availabled on all my calendars so I’ll be ready.  I hope I will be chosed to be involved in the fall shows.  They take place in several locations over an entire week. 

What I learned from this show.  If you are doing a fashion show for the first time choose a smaller one.  You can make your mistakes with a smaller group and nobody notices, except maybe the fashion writers in the audience.  Let the models do their thing without you directing them.  I didn’t choose the piece for the model they simply got whatever was the next piece to wear without any problem.  Make sure your models have removed all their own jewelry including rings, except wedding rings.  Be sure you arrange the jewelry for the best display, I had models trying to arrange pieces after I had put them on because they thought it was on wrong, the piece is an asymmetrical piece with a chain on one side and chips on the other side and then smooth round beads; this model moved the piece so the chain was in the center.  I caught it just before she went out. Always have a helper to put the jewelry on the models and take it off.  At this show there were only 10 models and I had 40 pieces for the runway.  It was a busy 15 minutes.  Make sure you get all your jewelry back including the earrings.  I was always reminding the girls to take off the earrings. Wear what you make, don’t forget that at the end of the models you will be walking out on the runway and be introduced, you don’t want to be without something you made around your neck.  Most of all have fun and be flexible, I was supposed to be second and the designer before me hadn’t shown up 5 minutes before the show began so I was moved up to the #1 slot.  Thankfully I was ready.  Be sure you have your jewelry in trays to make it easy for you.  I had my jewelry on hangtags so that the earrings and necklaces were all together, simply remove the set from the hangtag.  After each piece is brought back to you don’t worry about putting the pieces back on the hangtag, you have after the show to work on that.  As long as you put all the parts back into your trays you can put the sets back together when you aren’t so busy. One last thing have a small table where you are putting the jewelry on behind the scenes so you can lay out the pieces ready to put them on the models.

  • Do have media packets, I had them even though no media took one.
  • Do display pieces if you have a table for you media packets and business cards.
  • Do display your business sign.
  • Do have anyone helping you dress similar and wear your jewelry.
  • Do have someone taking photos of the models with your pieces on.
  • Do talk, talk, talk, to everyone that gets close to you.
  • Do tell everyone you know that you are doing this.
  • Don’t be afraid to tell the organizer exactly what you expect and if possible how you want the models to walk the runway. In my case they could go around a fountain or along the front of the audience.  I chose in front of the audience.
  • Do have fun and relax, it turns out you are really in the hands of the models and if they know what they are having fun it’s all good.
Leave a Reply

