Resin Jewelry

Resin cabochon with bronze and blue metallic paints mixed into the resin

I’ve been playing with some resin that I got and making some resin cabochons. Here’s the thing, when you go to buy resin be sure you read the box all the way so you don’t do what I did and pick up resin that turns white when it sets. Turns out it’s pretty cool to add paint to the resin and have that show through with the white but I was originally planning to make clear resin with scrapbook paper in it to see how it looked. Next time.

Do you have some old watches that don’t work? Why not try your hand at resin jewelry? You will need to take the watches completely apart so you have the gears and workings inside, purchase a base metal casting bracelet at your local craft store and clear resin. It’s as simple as that. Mix the resin according to the package directions, gently pour the resin down the craft stick into your bracelet casting until it is about 1/2 full; add your watch pieces, photos, or whatever you are adding and finish filling the casting level with the top of the metal frame.

Long rectangular cabochons of resin with blue metallic paint placed in the mold prior to adding the resin

All you resin to set until it is hard and your bracelet is done. A base metal casting bracelet is simply a common metal such as stainless steel or brass, it is formed into a simple shape such as a rectangle or square and linked together with a clasp. You can purchase these at about any craft store for very little.  If you got any resin over the top of the frames simply use an emery board to file away any extra resin.

I wouldn’t recommend you wear it all the time but a bracelet like this is usually not worn all the time anyway. This inexpensive bracelet should only cost you about $5 to make and is a super fun item to have.

These are a few of the cabochons I’ve made using resin cabochon molds that I purchased at my local craft stores and created using that darn resin that turns white as it cures. I’ll be getting the clear resin soon and trying my hand as other ideas I have rattling around in my brain.  I haven’t done any trimming but that is very simple by using a pair of scissors or a craft knife.  You can even use an emery board (my favorite file) to trim off any extra resin that got over the top of the mold. 

For now hope you have enjoyed this blog and learned that you can always try your hand at making something as easy as a resin and base metal bracelet. 

Kris

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paulette
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 18:40:38

    What a neat idea using the old watches! I have several! Where do I buy the materials to do this?
    Thanks Kris!

    Reply

  2. Bonita Rasmussen
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 17:09:06

    I have been looking for this resin that dries white and have not been able to fine it. What is the name/brand? Love your pieces you have posted.

    Reply

    • KL Jewelry Design
      Jun 22, 2012 @ 07:49:00

      Sorry this took me a bit to get back to you. The resin I was using is called Amazing Casting Resin. I purchased it at a local craft store called Hobby Lobby. I know Hobby Lobby is online but I don’t know if you can purchase from them. At least now you have the name of the resin and you should be able to look for online.

      Reply

  3. omahapeters
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:30:12

    GREAT STUFF! Can you find the cabochon molds at Hobby Lobby or Michaels as well?

    Reply

  4. KL Jewelry Design
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 10:19:06

    Yes I got mine at Michaels

    Reply

Leave a Reply

