Learning a New Ring

Have you ever been working on a design and you have books, tutorials, and videos with the design in it with different people telling you how to make it and they are all wrong? Well that’s what I was seeing with the Classic Cabochon Ring or the ring designed by Tom Phelan years ago. I’m sure somewhere along the path of translation from Mr. Phelan’s ring design to other jeweler’s interpretation of his design.

Here’s what I found out. Most of the time if you are making this ring in a size 5 or 6 with an 18 x 13 mm cabochon it comes out perfect with the stone just above your wraps on the shank but if you use the same size stone and try to make it in a 9 or larger you end up with the stone sitting a long ways from the wraps and to fix it so the stone is closer to the wraps your ring just looked bad. A lot of people make the ring this way. It’s not wrong it just doesn’t look right to me.

So I went on a quest to find someone that had the same opinion of the ring design as I did and I found him. Rickie at Wire Creations. He figured out how to make the adjustment in the wraps according to the size of the stone. No matter what size you want the ring to be you use the same spacing and start the ring at the same place on your mandrel. Now I could tell you how to do all that but since I bought the tutorial from Rickie and he doesn’t supply it to you as a pdf but instead as an exe file and in order to look at it you have to use the password he supplies you with. And I do mean you have to use the password every time you look at it so you will need to go to his website, Wire Creations and purchase the tutorial for the Cabochon Ring.

Anyway I had finally found someone that explained the ring to me and I actually understood what he was saying. I also purchased his Dome Ring tutorial.

Here are some photos of some of the rings I made from his tutorial. I worked on that Dome ring over and over again in brass wire because I just couldn’t get it right. I didn’t have a problem with this really simple but great looking ring I just messed it up over and over again when I would make the crossing wraps on the top. I finally figured out that I needed to line the first and inside wire that I cross with the mark on the shank of the ring that marks the center of the wires. Once I did that, and it came to me in the middle of the night, I made the ring with ease and it looks like Rickie’s ring.

I bought some big marquise cut crystals with the thought of making some rings with them but they have just sat in my drawers until today. This picture shows you what I came up with. I started with the classic cabochon ring and then crossed two wires across the stone and tucked them under. It was super simple and super quick to make. What do you think of the blue crystal ring I’m wearing on my pinky? Not really a pinky ring but I can’t get it on a different finger.

Next to the marquise ring is my cabochon ring following Rickie’s directions. Comes out perfect every time.

The copper ring is from a tutorial I found on making a ring from a copper pipe. I wanted to give this a try and so I went to the hardware store and bought two sizes of pipe, bought an Imp cutter, a small tool used to cut smaller diameter pipes. I decided how wide to make the ring and got to work with the cutter. Cut like butter and all I had to do was file the edges smooth. Trouble is you are limited to the size pipe you have.

The last ring I was just playing with a piece of 18 gauge round silver wire and where the ends meet at the bottom of the shank I simply wrapped the ends of the wire around the shank and filed the edges smooth and made the two bends at the top.

I always like to get other’s opinions of my work so let me know what you think of these five rings.

Kris.

Check out this scrapbooking site. Fantastic
Scrapbook Layout Ideas

Leave a Reply

