Musings from Kris

This weekend I picked up my Kobo eReader to look at an e-book on wire work.  Not anything unusual there.  I looked at the cover of my Kobo like I always do and it said it was powered off; I turned it on and let it do its thing while did something else.  I picked up my Kobo and guess what.  The screen had cracked and you could see ob ad and that was it.  Drat!!  I’m always careful with the Kobo to prevent it from having this exact same thing from happening.  I always kept it in the case even when I was uploading items to it or charging it.

All I could think about was now I only had my desktop computer to view my ebooks and tutorials.  Double drat! I picked up my droid phone and started researching another eReader.  Some of the items I was looking for were:

  1. a color screen
  2. touch screen
  3. reads pdf or epub
  4. larger screen
  5. color screen, did I say that before?  I can’t stress how important this was to me since I do chain maille and some well most of the lessons show different color rings
  6. internet would be nice
  7. easy to charge
  8. easy to figure out
  9. easy to use

Those were the list of what I was looking for.  Number one was the color.  Like I said a lot of ebooks on chainmaille show the pattern using different colors of rings to you can follow what they are doing.  Anyway in case you didn’t know it there are hundreds of ereaders and thousands of reviews for each one.

I narrowed my choices down by my list of wants and then by ease of use.  What I came up with was the new Kobo touch, the Pandigital Novel 7″, and the Cruz.  I compared them side by side and the Kobo touch was quickly eliminated because it is still black and white and it was a preorder so it hasn’t been released yet.  Then I dug into the PDN white and the Cruz and eliminated the Cruz leaving just the PDN white.

I got my PDN white at Radio Shack for just $119 that’s a great sale price since it’s usually $199.  What I like about my PDN white is:

  1. color screen
  2. touch screen
  3. external SD card slot
  4. charger included
  5. USB cable included
  6. plug and play not a lot of setup to start using
  7. easy to transfer files from my computer to my PDN
  8. android system like my phone
  9. android apps can be used on the PDN

Some of the little things that bother me are:

  1. it is heavy compared to other eReaders
  2. loads some files slowly
  3. I have so far found that three pdf files do not work. The photos are not loaded with the pdf.  This will take some research to fix this.
  4. it lost the internet connection last night and I had to reinstall it today
  5. no stores locally sell a hard case for the PDN white so I have to order it
  6. no stores locally sell the screen covers for the PDN white so I have to order them

That’s not much to be cons for this machine.  It is first and foremost an eReader but also works like a tablet with all the apps, office programs, internet and everything else it does that I haven’t even begun to use.  Oh yes you can also watch videos, listen to music, get your email, and upload photos and themes to personalize your Pandigital Novel 7″.  Love this and highly recommend getting it.

Leave a Reply

